WTB Traqmate cable - Dorkiphus.net
Navigation » Dorkiphus.net > Classifieds > Other Stuff For Sale » WTB Traqmate cable

Other Stuff For Sale Place for For Sale and WTB posts for non-Porsche and non-BMW stuff that YOU have. Not strictly moderated like the other For Sale forums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2020, 06:09 PM
Molly2001 Molly2001 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Warrenton, VA
Posts: 22
Molly2001
Default WTB Traqmate cable

I was gifted a Traqmate base and have everything I need...except the cable to connect the unit to a computer so that I can pull data.
Looking for the cable that makes that connection -OR- pin-out info so that I may build a cable myself.
Thanks everyone!
Niel V
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2020, 10:17 PM
mlytle mlytle is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: alexandria
Posts: 381
mlytle
Default

base connects to display. all the data is stored in the display. display unit to computer uses a simple common USB cable.

at least that is how both my traqmates work...
__________________
Marshall
----------------
75 M2
88 M3
97 M3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2020, 08:56 AM
Molly2001 Molly2001 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Warrenton, VA
Posts: 22
Molly2001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlytle View Post
base connects to display. all the data is stored in the display. display unit to computer uses a simple common USB cable.

at least that is how both my traqmates work...
Yeah but... this is just the base unit & has no display. There is a round connector on the unit end & an RS232 on the other end (yes, old stuff). I can use a converter to get the RS232 to USB. Presumably the cable came to me with the unit, but I cannot find it.

Thanks -
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2020, 10:02 AM
mlytle mlytle is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: alexandria
Posts: 381
mlytle
Default

rs232 is the plug for inputs...rpm, tps, etc.
round connector goes to the display unit.

believe you need a display unit....unless you have the "basic" version that has a big red record button on the end with the round DIN connector. in that case the DIN connector is the comms port. i assume you have found the manuals at https://store.traqmate.com/?

might be good to search the net or someone selling an entire system....should be cheap...they all are super old. to be blunt, the thing is fairly useless without a display unit. a lot of the value is the ability to see data in real time and change settings in the car.
__________________
Marshall
----------------
75 M2
88 M3
97 M3

Last edited by mlytle; 11-27-2020 at 10:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2020, 02:06 PM
Molly2001 Molly2001 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Warrenton, VA
Posts: 22
Molly2001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlytle View Post
rs232 is the plug for inputs...rpm, tps, etc.
round connector goes to the display unit.

believe you need a display unit....unless you have the "basic" version that has a big red record button on the end with the round DIN connector. in that case the DIN connector is the comms port. i assume you have found the manuals at https://store.traqmate.com/?

might be good to search the net or someone selling an entire system....should be cheap...they all are super old. to be blunt, the thing is fairly useless without a display unit. a lot of the value is the ability to see data in real time and change settings in the car.
Marshall -

I have the Basic unit with the big red button! I have the manuals but cannot find pin-out data. Yes the RS232 is the input connector - previous install had this connected to the Tachometer. What I stated wrong is the computer end of the cable is a comm-port connector / smaller than the RS-232 - you are correct. This unit came from my brother. He would pull the data after DE sessions into the computer and work with that. Getting a display unit might be the route to take.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2020, 04:52 PM
mlytle mlytle is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: alexandria
Posts: 381
mlytle
Default

wish i had one of those basic cables for you, or at least have one to be able to wring out to get pin outs. both mine are display unit versions so just simple usb from DU to computer. you might want to try seaching the traqmate forum to see if the cable data was posted there somewhere.

get a DU if you can. enables quick setup changes, review of session lap times without computer, and real time display of lap times, lap counts and predictive lap timing. sooo worth it. i have one permanently mounted in track car, another i made "portable" that i move between other cars, and we have one hard wired in our race car.

wish the company was still in biz. the software for looking at the data is so much better than the AIM stuff.
__________________
Marshall
----------------
75 M2
88 M3
97 M3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2020, 09:06 PM
Molly2001 Molly2001 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Warrenton, VA
Posts: 22
Molly2001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlytle View Post
wish i had one of those basic cables for you, or at least have one to be able to wring out to get pin outs. both mine are display unit versions so just simple usb from DU to computer. you might want to try seaching the traqmate forum to see if the cable data was posted there somewhere.

get a DU if you can. enables quick setup changes, review of session lap times without computer, and real time display of lap times, lap counts and predictive lap timing. sooo worth it. i have one permanently mounted in track car, another i made "portable" that i move between other cars, and we have one hard wired in our race car.

wish the company was still in biz. the software for looking at the data is so much better than the AIM stuff.
Thanks -

I will look for the DU as you suggest. Need to find one with the cable of course. I need to check out the forum again - memory says I wasn't able to get in. I thought that would be a good place for help.
Thanks for your comments / ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2020, 09:45 PM
mlytle mlytle is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: alexandria
Posts: 381
mlytle
Default

display unit has a cable attached. if extension needed, it is a standard DIN-DIN cable.

yeah, bummer. looks like forum is dead.

ebay...full system!
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Traqmate-Da...IAAOSwXkRftVLW


here is one that has a pic of the cable deal you need for yours. top right of system pic. din to serial adapter connected to a serial to USB adapter.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Traqmate-Da...EAAOSw8GFfhdAD


DU in my track car.
__________________
Marshall
----------------
75 M2
88 M3
97 M3

Last edited by mlytle; 11-27-2020 at 10:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2020, 10:24 PM
Dr K's Avatar
Dr K Dr K is offline
Colorado's finest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 15,722
Dr K has two HoF threadsDr K has two HoF threads
Default

I have a display unit but would charge $50 for it, and that whole system on eBay (with the analog box for sensors) would be <$50 shipped (so far) - go for the eBay unit if you can get it.
__________________
Peter (not "Pete") K.
IndexFingerRacing.com

1992 Miata ("SSM") race car
2016 Toyota Highlander (wife's DD and my new tow vehicle
2017 VW GTI SE (DD)

Gone and missed:
2009 911 C2S Coupe "The Green Car"
2004 Toyota Prius - sold to son's girlfriend
2006 Dodge Durango - sold to a Dorki
2003 Acura MDX - Just shy of 200K
86 Black 911 Coupe race car (owned 2010-2016)
86 Gold 911 Targa (owned 1998-2012)
82 WineRedMetallic 911 Targa (owned 1986-7)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-28-2020, 06:17 PM
Molly2001 Molly2001 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Warrenton, VA
Posts: 22
Molly2001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlytle View Post
display unit has a cable attached. if extension needed, it is a standard DIN-DIN cable.

yeah, bummer. looks like forum is dead.

ebay...full system!
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Traqmate-Da...IAAOSwXkRftVLW


here is one that has a pic of the cable deal you need for yours. top right of system pic. din to serial adapter connected to a serial to USB adapter.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Traqmate-Da...EAAOSw8GFfhdAD


DU in my track car.
Thanks
I will keep an eye on the bay auction.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump