Instructing for DE and motion sickness issues - Dorkiphus.net
Navigation » Dorkiphus.net > Technical & Track Disussions > Track Talk » Instructing for DE and motion sickness issues

Track Talk A place to talk about Track and DE Events, share driving tips and other Track related items.

Old 11-25-2019, 01:28 PM

Mark Hubley
Default Instructing for DE and motion sickness issues

I am at a point where I can consider becoming an instructor for DE, but issues with motion sickness are holding me back. Maybe I can use more driving skills, too, but . . .

When I ride shotgun with someone on the track, I generally get out after four or five laps. I can do that without any problems. The last time I rode along for a full session I was very queasy by the end. It was a hot day, and I felt crappy the rest of the afternoon. So, while I am a teacher by profession, and I enjoy teaching, I have figured I will just never be a DE instructor.

I have never tried using any sort of anti-nausea medication (pills, patches, etc.) on a track day. About five years ago my wife and I did a day-long offshore fishing trip, and I used some sort of pill. I did not get nauseous, but it made me pretty sleepy. Over the years I have seen numerous people at DE events wearing the patches behind their ears, but I have not tried those.

Any advice???

Formerly owned Porsche/BMW:
1986 944 Turbo
2006 325i
2000 911
1987 924S
1999 Boxster
1986 944
Old 11-25-2019, 04:12 PM

Chopper Dropper