Dorkiphus.net

Dorkiphus.net (https://dorkiphus.net/porsche/index.php)
-   Porsche Technical Discussions (https://dorkiphus.net/porsche/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Brake pressure switch question (https://dorkiphus.net/porsche/showthread.php?t=39399)

86911TLCAB 01-06-2019 05:48 PM

Brake pressure switch question
 
1982 911 sc

Both My brake lights have recently stopped working. The brake light on the dash has also lighted up and won't go off. When I check for voltage I don't appear to have any voltage coming out of the switch ( have only tested the front most switch so far). Will the system work with one bad pressure switch or must both be operational for the system to work properly? Thanks.

Trak Ratt 01-06-2019 06:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 86911TLCAB (Post 616557)
1982 911 sc

Both My brake lights have recently stopped working. The brake light on the dash has also lighted up and won't go off. When I check for voltage I don't appear to have any voltage coming out of the switch ( have only tested the front most switch so far). Will the system work with one bad pressure switch or must both be operational for the system to work properly? Thanks.

It should though Iíve had both switches go bad. One goes bad and you donít know it till the othe ones doesCheck the fuse if you havenít done that yet

86911TLCAB 01-06-2019 06:54 PM

I guess you don't know until the second one fails. Have checked the fuses and continuity. Ordered a couple of switches. I suppose everything has a shelf life. Thanks Dave.

86911TLCAB 01-16-2019 02:13 PM

changed both switches...system operating...

Jazzbass 01-16-2019 02:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 86911TLCAB (Post 616905)
changed both switches...system operating...

Those switches go bad all the time. I've gone through at least 4 sets. I wonder if track use and repeated high pressure cycles in the braking system has anything to do with it?

86911TLCAB 01-16-2019 02:27 PM

i saw a mod for adding in a mechanical switch...seems pretty easy to do...may add it in...

hoophead 01-16-2019 04:12 PM

I suspect it's running the entire brake light current through the switches and that is what is frying them. Even two in parallel can't take it. I've replaced several sets myself.

Vicegrip 01-17-2019 07:25 AM

They work in tandem. If one fails the dash light should go on. In addition to the brake lights they are set up to light the dash when one brake fluid loop develops less pressure that the other. Clever design, Poor build of the pressure switch.

86911TLCAB 01-20-2019 04:08 PM

For the moment they are functional. Dash light has gone out. Brake lights working. Let's see how long the switches last.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.